Safety in Australia

Australia is introducing new harmonised product safety laws, which will take effect from 1 January 2011. From then on, a single set of regulations will apply across Australia, replacing current state and territory standards and regulations.

To support implementation and give consumer and businesses and other interested parties easy access to information, a dedicated website has been designed which is administered by the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission.

In line with the new law the current system of declared and non-declared equipment (prescribed and non-prescribed electrical equipment) will also be overhauled. The new classification system will probably include 3 risk levels (level 1 - low risk, level 2 - medium risk, level 3 - high risk), plus outline compliance requirements for the 3 levels. For level 3 - high risk (equivalent to the current list of declared products) the need for certification by a state or territory Electrical Regulatory Authority or an authorised certification body will remain. In addition, a national database for the registration of suppliers and of electrical equipment is scheduled to be introduced by mid-2011.

Access to Markets
Certification Process
Global Offices
Global Offices