New regulations Japanese certification

As of August 31, 2015 there have been some changes in the Japanese standards (JNIOSH-TR-46) on Ex-equipment.


Promulgated by the Minister of Health, Labour and Welfare the Japanese standards have been harmonized with the following IEC standards:

IEC 60079-0: 2011

IEC 60079-1: 2007

IEC 60079-2: 2007

IEC 60079-6: 2007

IEC 60079-7: 2006

IEC 60079-11: 2011

IEC 60079-15: 2010

IEC 60079-18: 2009

IEC 60079-31: 2008

A detailed overview of the National Differences for Japan is listed here.

Overall changes The new regulations lead to a number of overall changes for all standards:

  • Marking: The Ex-marking has been changed by adding EPL (Ga, Gb, Gc or Da, Db, Dc).
  • Components: If a TIIS component certificate number, type identification code and outline drawing are present, no detail drawing and test report are required in the process of Ex-certification. Any manufacturer or importer can apply to TIIS to get a TIIS component certificate.
  • Routine tests: The result of routine tests is required if the implementation of routine tests is prescribed in JNIOSH’s Technical Recommendations. A Factory Audit report for IECEx (QAR) is treated as the result of routine tests.

Certification The TIIS Certification fees have been changed. Please find the new fees in the TIIS Brief Guide, 8th Revision: February 2016

Need help to obtain Japanese Ex-certification? DEKRA is able to help you get through the application for TIIS Certification. Our experts in our Tokyo based office are ready to look at your application. Please send your request here.


Access to Markets
Certification Process
Global Offices
Global Offices